No Justice For An Unjust Death

This morning I can’t stop thinking about Masa Vukotic. A person I have never met, but someone whose name makes my heart feel heavy and whose death gives me a lump in my throat.

A 17 year old girl, filled with potential but now, thanks to the scum of the earth, her entire future has been ripped away from her.

Women shouldn’t have to walk in fear. This morning as I made my way to work, I couldn’t help but look at passersby and wonder, am I in danger? Might you hurt me?

An ABC News report from 2004 mentions the swine that would one day become Vukotic’s killer. I won’t dignify him by writing his name, but he was sentenced to serve five and half years of an eight year sentence in a psychiatric hospital after pleading guilty to “22 charges including two counts of rape, three counts of indecent assault and four of stalking.”

Another killer with prior convictions. How many more Jill Meagher’s and Masa Vukotic’s does there need to be for the justice system to realise some people can’t be rehabilitated.

In the face of such horror, it’s easy to be dragged down, but don’t forget that there is still good in the world.

“Be soft. Do not let the world make you hard. Do not let pain make you hate. Do not let the bitterness steal your sweetness. Take pride that even though the rest of the world may disagree, you still believe it to be a beautiful place.”

 

Leave a Reply

